AW2 Eligibility and Enrollment

The Army Wounded Warrior Program (AW2) is the official U.S. Army program that assists and advocates for severely wounded, ill and injured Soldiers, Veterans, and their Families, wherever they are located, regardless of military status. Soldiers who qualify for AW2 are assigned to the program as soon as possible after arriving at the Warrior Transition Unit (WTU). AW2 supports these Soldiers and their Families throughout their recovery and transition, even into Veteran status. Through the local support of AW2 Advocates, AW2 strives to foster the Soldier's independence. There are more than 18,200 Soldiers and Veterans currently in AW2.

Eligibility Requirements

In order to be considered eligible for entry into AW2, Soldiers must suffer from wounds, illness, or injuries incurred in the line of duty after September 10, 2001 AND meet one of the following criteria:

  1. Receive or expect to receive at least a 30% rating from the Integrated Disability Evaluation System (IDES) for one of the conditions listed below:
  2. AW2 Eligibility and Enrollment
    • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).
    • Severe traumatic brain injury (TBI).
    • Severe loss of vision/blindness.
    • Severe hearing loss/deafness.
    • Fatal / incurable disease with limited life expectancy.
    • Loss of limb.
    • Spinal cord injury.
    • Permanent disfigurement.
    • Severe burns.
    • Severe paralysis.
    • Complex Behavioral Health Conditions that were caused, or exacerbated or aggravated by exacerbated by combat/instrumentality of war versus service (in accordance with the DSM IV 2000*).
    • Receive a 30% rating or greater for one Veterans Affairs Scheduled Rating Decision (VASRD) as rated by the Physical Evaluation Board (PEB) in any other Special Category (SPECAT)/ Enabling Care (EC) or combat/combat-related condition;


    - OR -

  3. Receive a 30% IDES disability rating in any other combat related condition or any condition caused by an instrumentality of war.

    - OR -

  5. Receive a combined 50% IDES rating for any other combat/combat-related condition.


At this time there are no exceptions to AW2 entry criteria; however, we are currently evaluating the appeals process and will keep you informed of any changes.

* The DSM IV 2000 is a standard criteria published by the American Psychiatric Association and is used for the classification of mental disorders.


Soldiers and Veterans who meet the AW2 eligibility requirements and are not currently enrolled in AW2 should contact the AW2 Call Center for assistance:

AW2 Call Center
Nationwide (toll-free): (877) 393-9058
Overseas DSN: (312) 221-9113
Email: AW2 Call Center

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Is every wounded Soldier eligible for AW2?

No. To be eligible for AW2, a wounded Soldier or Veteran has to meet the Eligibility Requirements for inclusion in the program. Please refer to Eligibility Requirements for AW2 entry criteria.

I have a 50% disability rating from Veterans Administration (VA). Do I qualify for AW2?

No, unless you meet the Army rating requirements for AW2. A Veterans Administration (VA) disability rating is different from the Army Physical Disability Agency (PDA) rating. AW2 eligibility determination is based on the Army rating and the Army rates for fitness, while the VA rates for service connection.

Am I eligible for Combat Related Special Compensation (CRSC) or assistance with my travel claims?

Your AW2 Advocate is your first point of contact for all pay and financial questions. They can assist you in working with the appropriate Army, Department of Defense, and Veterans Affairs program. Download the fact sheet to learn more about how the AW2 can assist you with pay and benefits.

Return to top of page